15th Annual Business Excellence Awards – Virtual Event Announcement

Exciting news! Our Business Excellence Awards are moving online!
Starting July 16th, we will be releasing one video per day to showcase our finalists and announce the category winner. Stay tuned for the first video!
If you purchased tickets to the event, they have been refunded. Please send us a message if you have any concerns.
Here’s a look at a few of our finalists!


Non Profit/Charitable Award  The Non-Profit/Charitable Award is presented to the not-for-profit business that has significantly contributed to the quality of life within the community and its citizens through its programming and/or activities.

  • Amherstburg Community Services
  • Amherstburg Food & Fellowship Mission
  • Amherstburg Freedom Museum
  • Firehorse Leadership Organization


Welcoming Accessibility Awarded to a business or organization that has reduced employment barriers and/or assisted employees with physical, communication or developmental challenges.

  • Amherstburg Chevrolet
  • Amherstburg Community Services
  • Families First (Amherstburg)
  • Libro Centre


Excellence in Customer Service Awarded to a business or organization the is recognized by their customers as providing excellent customer service. The winner will be distinguished from other businesses by the fact that they have gone above and beyond for their customers.

  • 67 Richmond
  • Arturo Esthetics
  • Game Gear Attire
  • Naples Pizza (Amherstburg)


Tourism & Hospitality Award The Hospitality Award is presented to an accommodation and/or food business that has improved the allure of the community by demonstrating commitment to excellence in hospitality/customer service, staff knowledge, quality and consistency of product, and community involvement. e.g. restaurants, cafes, hotels, B&Bs, Inns, street vendors, etc.

  • Caffeine & Co
  • The Fort Family Fun Centre
  • Lot 10 Brewing Company
  • Wolfhead Distillery


Chamber Award – Youth Engagement & Leadership The Chamber Award is presented to a youth 13-20 years old for their Outstanding Community Engagement and was established to recognize and encourage exceptional activities such as, but not limited to, volunteerism, community-based learning or research, outreach, partnership, and curricular engagement.

  • Addisyn Walker & Darragh Aston
  • Alandra Berard
  • Jenna Reaume
  • Linden Crain


Pillar of our Community Awarded to the business or organization that consistently plays an active role in making our community a better place to live by their involvement with charitable organizations, community benefits, sponsorships and committees.

  • Amherstburg Community Foundation
  • The House Youth Centre
  • The Rotary Club of Amherstburg
  • Society of Saint Vincent de Paul (Amherstburg)


New Business of the Year Awarded to a business who has been in operation less than two years that has experienced success in company growth, sales and service, profitability and employment creation

  • H’Om Yoga & Barre
  • Lot 10 Brewing Company
  • The Plant Base
  • Taylor Lanoie Social Media Management


Entrepreneur of the Year  The Entrepreneur Award is presented to an entrepreneur, in business for 1-4 yrs., who has investigated the opportunities, weighed the risks, and has demonstrated significant business achievement and sustainable financial performance.

  • Jen Grondin – GL Heritage Brewery
  • Kelly St. Denis & Serena Koehl – Busy Homez
  • Mackie Jones – The Towne Shoppe
  • Tony & Dani Smith – The Garage Gym


Professional of the Year The Professional Award is presented to a business that provides services to individuals or businesses. The recipient business executes best practices in all areas of their operation to ensure the maximization of their capabilities and capacity. The recipient business demonstrates a commitment to the ongoing education, skills development or professional accreditation of its employees. e.g. lawyers, accountants, financial advisers, realtors, etc.

  • Anne Marie-Favot – Libro Credit Union
  • Dr. Beth Cozens – Fort Malden Animal Hospital
  • Ken Thrasher – Thrasher Auto Sales
  • Norbert Bolger – Nor-Built Construction


Business Legacy Awarded to a business that has been in operation for ten years or longer, has demonstrated long term leadership, innovative thinking and commitment to the community.

  • Mae’s Travel
  • Romano’s Speciality Meats & Italian Deli
  • Waterfront Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt


The Virtue Award Awarded to recognize and honour outstanding business and professional individuals for excellence in their chosen field, for providing valuable service to their community and for actively mentoring and developing other in their attainment of professional goals and leadership skills.

  • Carolyn Davies
  • Donald McArthur
  • Michelle Stein
  • Sarah Parks